Khmer alphabet

An important difference is that Khmer is not tonal. In tonal languages, such as Thai, Lao, and Vietnamese, the same sound has one meaning when spoken in a high tone, and a different meaning when spoken in a low tone. What about the Khmer alphabet to learn Cambodian ? learning cambodian ?

Dernière mise à jour le 2024-04-13 / Liens affiliés / Images de l'API Amazon Partenaires

Khmer script

Modern Khmer script can take two forms: an "oblique script", used for handwriting and most printed texts, and a "round script", used for headings, titles, some religious texts and other cases where certain words or phrases should be emphasized.

The Khmer script begins at the top left of the page and continues down and to the right . Cambodian writing does not use spaces between individual words ; instead, spaces are used to indicate the end of sentences.

The Khmer alphabet

Vowel placement in written Khmer can be confusing at first; vowels may follow or precede consonants, or they may go above or below , or a combination of before, after, above, or below . The placement of each vowel can be seen in the chart showing the 23 vowels .

Khmer also includes 12 " independent vowels ", which can exist without a preceding or following consonant. Independent vowels can be used as monosyllabic words or as the initial syllables of longer words. Khmer words never begin with regular vowels; they may, however, begin with independent vowels .

Local community groups can be a great way to find native speakers willing to help you with Khmer conversations. Many organizations have programs where native volunteers are happy to teach Khmer to other people. If you live near Cambodian areas, join study or clubs at school and find friends to discuss Khmer. You can also choose to attend community events and conferences to meet native speakers. Khmer numerals are also different, although Arabic numerals are being used more and more frequently. There are also unique marks for Khmer punctuation , but modern Cambodian writing also incorporates several punctuation marks derived from Western typography.

Ready to learn Khmer ?

Read, write and pronounce the letters of the Khmer alphabet

Khmer contains consonants and vowels. Below are the letters, pronunciation and sound. In this table you will know how to pronounce the letters correctly, there are English words to help you. Source: http://learn101.org/khmer_alphabet.php

[kâ]
like cat
[khâ]
like Khmer
[kô]
like cold
[khô]
like khota
[ngô]
like bang
[châ]
like chat
[chhâ]
like charm
[chô]
like chop
[chhô]
like chowder
[nhô]
like ganho
[dâ]
like dark
[thâ]
like that
[dô]
like door
[thô]
like though
[nâ]
like night
[tâ]
like task
[thâ]
like that
[tô]
like torsh
[thô]
like though
[nô]
like north
[bâ]
like bath
[phâ]
like fast
[pô]
like poll
[phô]
like food
[mô]
like moth
[yô]
like yolk
[rô]
like raw
[lô]
like lock
[vô]
like vault
[shâ]
like sharp
[ssô]
like esso
[sâ]
like sand
[hâ]
like heart
[lâ]
like loud
[qâ]
like qawqaw
[â]
like hat
[a]
like cat
[ĕ]
like pet
[ei]
like bye
[ŏ]
like top
[]
like
[ŭ]
like put
[ŏu]
like tool
[rœ̆]
like road
[rœ]
like rude
[lœ̆]
like low
[lœ]
like loud
[é]
like me
[ai]
like tie
ឱ, ឲ[aô, aôy]
like how
[âu]
like vow

Choose your Khmer teacher

Progressez plus vite en prenant des cours avec votre professeur de khmer en cliquant sur l’un des liens suivants :

– 50% SUR VOTRE 1ER COURS DE KHMER !

RESERVER UN COURS DE KHMER AVEC Sreynuon 🙂

Read also:
Learn Cambodian

Read also:
The basics

Read also:
Resources

Read also:
Around the language

Notez page

Leave a comment

Une différence importante est que le khmer n’est pas tonal. Dans les langues tonales, comme le thaï, le lao et le vietnamien, le même son a une signification lorsqu’il est prononcé dans un ton élevé, et une signification différente lorsqu’il est prononcé dans un ton bas. Quant est-il de l’alphabet khmer pour apprendre le cambodgien ?

L’écriture khmer

L’écriture khmère moderne peut prendre deux formes : une « écriture oblique », utilisée pour l’écriture manuscrite et la plupart des textes imprimés, et une « écriture ronde », utilisée pour les en-têtes, les titres, certains textes religieux et d’autres cas où certains mots ou phrases doivent être mis en valeur.

L’écriture khmère commence en haut à gauche de la page et se poursuit vers le bas et la droite. L’écriture cambodgienne n’utilise pas d’espaces entre les mots individuels ; les espaces sont plutôt utilisés pour indiquer la fin des phrases.

L’alphabet khmer

Le placement des voyelles dans le khmer écrit peut être déroutant au début ; les voyelles peuvent suivre ou précéder les consonnes, ou elles peuvent aller au-dessus ou au-dessous, ou une combinaison de avant, après, au-dessus ou au-dessous. Le placement de chaque voyelle peut être vu dans le graphique montrant les 23 voyelles.

Le khmer comprend également 12 « voyelles indépendantes« , qui peuvent exister sans consonne précédente ou suivante. Les voyelles indépendantes peuvent être utilisées comme des mots monosyllabiques ou comme les syllabes initiales de mots plus longs. Les mots khmers ne commencent jamais par des voyelles régulières ; ils peuvent cependant commencer par des voyelles indépendantes.

Les chiffres khmers sont également différents, bien que les chiffres arabes soient utilisés de plus en plus fréquemment. Il existe également des marques uniques pour la ponctuation khmère, mais l’écriture cambodgienne moderne intègre également plusieurs signes de ponctuation dérivés de la typographie occidentale.

Prêt pour apprendre le khmer ?

Lire, écrire et prononcer les lettres de l’alphabet khmer

Le khmer contient des consonnes et des voyelles. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les lettres, la prononciation et le son. Dans ce tableau, vous saurez prononcer les lettres correctement, il y a des mots anglais pour vous aider. Source: http://learn101.org/khmer_alphabet.php

[kâ]
like cat
[khâ]
like Khmer
[kô]
like cold
[khô]
like khota
[ngô]
like bang
[châ]
like chat
[chhâ]
like charm
[chô]
like chop
[chhô]
like chowder
[nhô]
like ganho
[dâ]
like dark
[thâ]
like that
[dô]
like door
[thô]
like though
[nâ]
like night
[tâ]
like task
[thâ]
like that
[tô]
like torsh
[thô]
like though
[nô]
like north
[bâ]
like bath
[phâ]
like fast
[pô]
like poll
[phô]
like food
[mô]
like moth
[yô]
like yolk
[rô]
like raw
[lô]
like lock
[vô]
like vault
[shâ]
like sharp
[ssô]
like esso
[sâ]
like sand
[hâ]
like heart
[lâ]
like loud
[qâ]
like qawqaw
[â]
like hat
[a]
like cat
[ĕ]
like pet
[ei]
like bye
[ŏ]
like top
[]
like
[ŭ]
like put
[ŏu]
like tool
[rœ̆]
like road
[rœ]
like rude
[lœ̆]
like low
[lœ]
like loud
[é]
like me
[ai]
like tie
ឱ, ឲ [aô, aôy]
like how
[âu]
like vow

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *